Image via Eliseu Geisler / Shutterstock.com
The messaging app had postponed its agreement deadline from February 8 to May 15 due to backlash, but has now decided not to delete any accounts after all.
“No one will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality of WhatsApp on May 15 because of this update,” WhatsApp’s latest FAQ reads.
However, it will up the frequency of its notifications urging users to agree to the update. And after several weeks, the reminder will eventually be persistent. This will result in users experiencing limited functionality on WhatsApp till they agree to the new terms.
As per WhatsApp’s FAQ on the matter, users won’t be able to access their chat lists, though they will still be able to answer incoming phone and video calls. Users will be able to respond to messages via tapping on notifications, but not via the main chat list itself.
After a few weeks with limited functionality, users won’t be able to receive any incoming calls or notifications; and the messaging app will cease sending messages and calls completely.
While WhatsApp has said it won’t delete accounts that don’t accept the update, it essentially will render those accounts useless.
If you’re thinking of opting out of the app, be sure to export your chat history to other messaging apps such as Telegram before the deadline.[via TechSpot, cover image via Eliseu Geisler / Shutterstock.com] http://www.designtaxi.com/news/413988/WhatsApp-Reverses-Decision-To-Delete-Accounts-But-Will-Restrict-Functions/